Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The United States will reopen in November to fully vaccinated air travelers from 33 countries, including most of Europe, as announced by White House Coronavirus response coordinator Jeff Zients.

The U.S. will admit fully vaccinated air travelers from 26 countries in Europe including France, Germany, Italy, Spain, Switzerland, and Greece as well as Britain, Ireland, China, India, South Africa, Iran, and Brazil.

The exact date of the new rules has not yet been set, and Zients reported that it would be in “early November,” as many details for the new policy are still being finalized.

“With travel a major part of the livelihoods of so many, and tourism an engine that drives a significant portion of the world’s economy, it is wonderful to hear that the U.S. will be reopening its borders for fully-vaccinated UK and European travelers,” said J.D. O’Hara, chief executive officer of Internova Travel Group, in a press statement. “The easing of travel restrictions for foreign nationals will bring us closer to reuniting loved ones safely and put us on the right path to bringing the travel industry back to a good place. The United States has much to offer leisure and business travelers, and by following the science-based recommendations that other countries are using as protocol for vaccinated travelers, tourism can help lead the world to economic recovery.”

In addition, the U.S. extended its pandemic-related restrictions at land borders with Canada and Mexico that bar nonessential travel through Oct. 21. It has not yet been indicated if the new vaccine rules will be applied to these land border countries as well.

And, for unvaccinated Americans traveling from abroad, they will face tougher rules than vaccinated Americans including the need to show proof of a negative Covid-19 test within a day of travel and proof of purchasing a viral test to be taken after arrival.

Don’t miss this update, For Americans traveling to the UK travel restrictions and protocols have been simplified.

Other countries now open to U.S. travelers include Spain, the French West Indies & FranceGermany, Switzerland, the Czech Republic and Denmark.